Gael Clichy is not leaving Arsenal nor is Tomas Rosicky going anywhere

There is still more than a month to go for this season to end, but looking at the amount of rumours related to players getting linked in and out of Arsenal, it seems as if we are one month into the summer break. And If we were to believe all, the whole Arsenal team would have been changed twice already.

Meanwhile, it is good that some of our players and their agents are coming up with statements to put the rumours to rest (and I will like others to do the same).

Our left back, Gael Clichy, for instance, has ruled out an Arsenal exit by saying that his present and future is with Arsenal and his ultimate ambition is to win a trophy with the Gunners. This is what he said while speaking to The People:

“When I arrived at Arsenal it was because I wanted to improve myself as a player and to win titles, and that is normal with any player. Wenger persuaded me to come here at a time when I was receiving offers from other clubs – and I have to say that my present and my future is with Arsenal.”

I am leaving talks over my contract with my agent so that I can focus on my football. I know that there are rumours about me going elsewhere but I have nothing to say about that. I have always wanted to be at a club where I am content. Money is important but it is not a decisive factor. All I want is to win a title – that’s my ultimate ambition.

It is unquestionable that Wenger is a great coach but the problem is it becomes more difficult to win the title every year. He is trying to develop the young players at this club and I think that is something you cannot put a price on in football.”

This statement might put an end to the stories for now but they will surface again until Clichy extends his current contract, which is set to expire next year. For me, I will never sell Clichy even if we do get offers for him. The first reason being that he is the best left back we have with Kieran Gibbs nowhere near to replacing him at the moment and the second, there are no better options in my opinion available out there. I am off the view that it will be best for us if we can keep him here at Arsenal and in due time Gibbs will be able to replace him. 

And it’s not like Arsene is going to sign someone with experience, if we do let Clichy go, as we have unearthed a new talent in the shape of Charlton’s young left back, Carl Jenkinson. 

There is also news linking Rosicky away from Arsenal this summer. However, his agent has labeled all such news as false. His agent had this to say:

“There have been many false rumours circulating, but at the moment, there is nothing concrete. It has been quite some time since I have heard from Arsene Wenger. Therefore, there is no new news, and if there is a change, he will be the first to communicate this.”

So, at the moment there is no such indication but I believe that Rosicky’s time is over at Arsenal. He has never been the same after his injury and despite showing some glimpses of his talent last season; he has disapointed a lot this time. This season he has been ordinary and in some games he has performed well below par. And considering his age he isn’t going to get any better. If we do get an offer for him, I believe we should take it which will make room for a new signing, like Eden Hazard (if we can), as well as a chance for the younger players to come up.

What do you all think? Is it time we let go of Rosicky or even Clichy?

3 Responses to Gael Clichy is not leaving Arsenal nor is Tomas Rosicky going anywhere

  1. jubril says:

    gael is one of the best in his position in europe,we still need such a player in our team but player like rosicky,diaby,denilson,alumunia,bendthner should be out of the team even if their sales will not bring enough money.thank God for the take over,i beleive we should try to invest on mature players i mean,tested okay.

    • Gilbert Young says:

      Clichy should stay, but he is definetly not the best in his position in Europe. Not by his performance the season just gone. He made a lot of vital mistake in ball watching, which converted into goals conceded. Ashely for Gallas was a mistake!

Leave a Reply

