Rumours, rumours and rumours, Way to go Wilshere and Alisher Usmanov

Time flies! It was just today that the match against Stoke was postponed. I am not complaining though as it has been a boring week for me. I was busy doing some other work which has kept me from writing anything these last few days. And it has been a pain in the a*** as it has kept me away from the football world. I have been getting updates on Arsenal though.

Anyhow, nothing much has happened even if you count the sacking of Benitez, it was inevitable. As for us, after Wenger declared that he might buy players in January, the numbers of players getting linked with us have increased exponentially. I am not surprised as it always has been like this.

What I am surprised at is that some of the rumours are just ridiculous.  For instance Lescott is linked with us. Now I don’t know but maybe someone was really drunk or that they wanted to give us laughs when they wrote this, take your pick. Then there is Mascherano, who only recently went to Barcelona.

Apart from them there are many others that have been linked, including Simon Kjear, but I feel we are very unlikely to sign them. Still there are a few that might interest Wenger. Such as Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain who plays for Southampton in League 1.  He is being compared to our very own and former Southampton man, Theo Walcott and the club rates him higher than Walcott at his age. I think that we already have far too many youngsters and another one will not add anything. We have signed Ryo Miyachi and we have our own youth players that we need to develop and induct into the first team. If we keep on adding more young players, a point will come where we will have to sell most of them and we might lose genuine talents with it.

At the moment what we need is proven performers, if we do buy as I still have my doubts that Wenger will buy. The other thing is that we have to sell first to make place for new signings. A couple of players have  been linked away from us; namely Denilson, to Barcelona and Wolfsburg, and Bendtner to Lazio. Both of them have been diplomatic in their responses to the speculations. My honest opinion is that they are going nowhere.

My strong belief is that till the time we don’t release players we won’t be signing new ones. Injuries can also force Wenger. However, we can only wait and see what happens as only a few days are left to the start of transfer of window. Don’t get your hopes up though. Still I would love to see Schweinsteiger and Eden hazard to be signed; I know I am asking too much!!

Apart from the rumors, a certain someone, after winning the ‘golden boy’ award, feels that only Messi is better than him in football and he is on his way to win another league title. If Lescott rumors didn’t give you the laughs this certainly would. As for his remarks about Wilshere, I think he needs to play more football than warm his backside.

I loved the response of Wilsher though, who said:

“Would just like to say how honoured I am to have got 2nd place in the ‘golden boy’! And like to thank everyone who voted for me!

“And would like to congratulate Mario Balotelli on winning it, even if he doesn’t know who I am! He is a top player!”

Way to go Wilshere!! You will win many other awards for sure.

By the way, if it interests you, Alisher Usmanov is on the verge of buying more shares at Arsenal. I don’t care as long as it doesn’t effect Arsenal and we still get to buy, some of the players, that we do.

Leave a Reply

